Care in a time of its rationing

    Thu, May 27, 2021, 6pm

    • Sponsors
    • Related

    Is our relationship to care a design problem?

    What does care feel like?
    What does care look like?
    What does care do?
    How does care fail?

    In lieu of a panel discussion about their own work, In Practice: You may go, but this will bring you back artists Carlos Agredano, Leslie Cuyjet, Kyrae Dawaun, Dominique Duroseau, Sunny Leerasanthanah, Abigail Lucien, and Catalina Ouyang will be joined in conversation by artist, facilitator, healer, and end-of-life doula M. Carmen Lane. The program continues the exhibition’s engagement with the idea of “non-resolution,” offering these artists a moment to ask Lane open-ended follow-up questions that radiate from their art, their lives, and their understandings of care. The discussion will be moderated by Katherine Simóne Reynolds, 2021 In Practice Curatorial Fellow.

    M. Carmen Lane is a two:spirit African-American and Haudenosaunee (Mohawk/Tuscarora) artist, writer and facilitator living in Cleveland, Ohio. All of Lane’s work integrates ancestry, legacy, and spirituality, pursuing expansion, experimentation, and play. In 2016, they became a birth/postpartum and end-of-life doula. Lane is founder and director of ATNSC: Center for Healing & Creative Leadership, a socially engaged urban retreat, residency and exhibition space in the historic Buckeye-Shaker neighborhood in Cleveland, Ohio.

    Register Now


    The In Practice program is made possible by the Pollock-Krasner Foundation.

    Leadership support of SculptureCenter’s exhibitions and programs is provided by Carol Bove, Jill and Peter Kraus, Lee Elliott and Robert K. Elliott, Eleanor Heyman Propp, Miyoung Lee and Neil Simpkins, and Robert Soros and Jamie Singer.

    SculptureCenter’s annual operating support is provided by the Elaine Graham Weitzen Foundation for Fine Arts; the Lambent Foundation Fund of Tides Foundation; the Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Foundation; Jacques Louis Vidal; A. Woodner Fund; Libby and Adrian Ellis; The Fox Aarons Foundation; The Willem de Kooning Foundation; Teiger Foundation; Helen Frankenthaler Foundation; Cy Twombly Foundation; Stavros Niarchos Foundation; Blavatnik Family Foundation; Arison Arts Foundation; The Richard Pousette-Dart Foundation; David Rockefeller Fund; Henry Luce Foundation; Jacques and Natasha Gelman Foundation; Robert Lehman Foundation; The Destina Foundation; public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council; the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; New York City Council Member Jimmy Van Bramer; and contributions from our Board of Trustees, Director’s Circle, and SC Ambassadors. Additional support is provided by the Milton and Sally Avery Arts Foundation and contributions from many generous individuals and friends.