The 2020 In Practice Artist Proposals closed on June 15, 2019.

    The In Practice open call program supports emerging artists and curators in creating new work for exhibition at SculptureCenter. Since 2003, In Practice has supported nearly 200 emerging artists with the essential resources of space, funding, time, and administrative support to help turn their ideas into reality.

    Exemplifying the spirit of SculptureCenter's mission, In Practice provides new ways to discover the most innovative artwork, foster experimentation, introduce audiences to emerging talent and new ideas, and give participants the opportunity to develop and present work in what is often their first institutional exhibition in New York City. Past In Practice participants include: Korakrit Arunanondchai, Fia Backström, A.K. Burns, Crystal Z Campbell, Aleksandra Domanović, Brendan Fernandes, Raque Ford, Jules Gimbrone, Samara Golden, Ellen Harvey, Madeline Hollander, Elizabeth Jaeger, Meredith James, Baseera Khan, Simone Leigh, Molly Lowe, Justin Matherly, Virginia Overton, Essex Olivares, Marlo Pascual, Sean Raspet, Rachel Rose, Xaviera Simmons, Josh Smith, Valerie Snobeck, Agathe Snow, Marianne Vitale, and Jon Wang, among many others.

    SculptureCenter is a not-for-profit museum that takes the history and legacy of sculpture as a framework from which to consider the diverse activity taking place in the field of contemporary art. SculptureCenter's program encourages artists and audiences to explore the possibilities of sculpture and the multifarious ways in which sculpture is developing and connecting to other forms of expression, including installation, video, performance, architecture, and other media.

    We invite artists to submit proposals each spring for new projects to be presented the following winter. Artists selected for the In Practice exhibition will receive a honorarium and production support. The level of production support will depend on the scope of accepted works and available funding.

    Application Deadline

    The 2020 In Practice Artist Proposals closed on June 15, 2019. The next annual call will open in the spring of 2020.

    Application Instructions

    Applicants are asked to propose new work for inclusion in SculptureCenter’s annual In Practice group exhibition. Proposals should reflect new work to be realized.

    All applications must be submitted using our online submission system (Submittable). Full application instructions are available within the Submittable submission form. A list of required materials is available as a PDF here. We are unable to accept and will not review email or paper submissions.

    To view information and images for all past In Practice exhibitions, please scroll to the bottom of this page. For questions, please first review to the FAQ sheet available here. For further questions please email No calls, please.


    Please provide detailed information about your artistic practice, your proposed project, and a proposed budget. Proposals will be reviewed relative to the following criteria:
    - Quality of proposal and prior work
    - Responsiveness to the site and context (physical or otherwise) of SculptureCenter as an institution
    - Feasibility of the project with regard to budget and timeline

    The In Practice exhibition is primarily installed in SculptureCenter's Lower Level. We also accept proposals for the exterior of the building, courtyard, relevant off-site projects, and web/publication/print projects. You may also propose projects for other institutional spaces (e.g. restrooms, elevators, etc.). Artists are welcome to experiment with unconventional display and exhibition formats. Past In Practice projects have included objects, installations, performance, web-based works, institutional interventions, mobile apps, multiples, and publications.

    Proposal drawings/renderings are encouraged. Floorplans and images of spaces available for proposals are available for download here.

    There are no geographic eligibility requirements, but the exhibition budget does not provide for travel or accommodation costs. As necessary, travel and/or transport costs should be included within the proposed production budget.

    Selection Process and Timeline

    The 2020 In Practice Open Call for Artist Proposals closed on Saturday, June 15, 2019.

    SculptureCenter curatorial staff and a select advisory committee of artists, curators, and critics will conduct a preliminary review of proposals. A limited number of artists will be contacted for further information and/or studio visits during the fall 2019.

    All applicants will be notified of their application status by email in fall 2019. Thank you for your interest in SculptureCenter’s In Practice program. We look forward to reviewing your proposal.