Reading: The Law of Large Numbers

    Thu, Apr 29, 2021, 1pm

    • Sponsors
    • Related

    Rindon Johnson and writers Anaïs Duplan, Asher Hartman, and Aristilde Kirby read texts from and in response to The Law of Large Numbers, a new book of Johnson’s writings co-published by SculptureCenter, Chisenhale Gallery, and Inpatient Press.

    Echoing the porous thinking and writing practice documented throughout Johnson's publication and exhibition, this program continues to situate Johnson's artistic approach alongside and in changing relation to other ideas, texts, and people. Like much of his work, Johnson’s writing explores how supposed virtual and actual realities are integrated, and how artistic production contributes to an ongoing process of identification and disidentification.

    An excerpt of the publication is available to read here and you can order a copy here.

    Register Now


    Rindon Johnson’s Coeval Proposition #1: Tear down so as to make flat with the Ground or The *Trans America Building DISMANTLE EVERYTHING is made possible by Valeria Napoleone XX SculptureCenter (VNXXSC).

    Support for Rindon Johnson: Law of Large Numbers: Our Bodies is provided by the Jacques and Natasha Gelman Foundation and the Harpo Foundation. Support for Rindon Johnson's The Law of Large Numbers publication is provided by François Ghebaly, Los Angeles.

    Law of Large Numbers: Our Bodies and Law of Large Numbers: Our Selves are commissioned and produced by SculptureCenter, New York and Chisenhale Gallery, London.

    Leadership support of SculptureCenter’s exhibitions and programs is provided by Carol Bove, Jill and Peter Kraus, Lee Elliott and Robert K. Elliott, Eleanor Heyman Propp, Miyoung Lee and Neil Simpkins, and Robert Soros and Jamie Singer.

    SculptureCenter’s annual operating support is provided by the Elaine Graham Weitzen Foundation for Fine Arts; the Lambent Foundation Fund of Tides Foundation; the Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Foundation; Jacques Louis Vidal; A. Woodner Fund; Libby and Adrian Ellis; The Fox Aarons Foundation; The Willem de Kooning Foundation; Teiger Foundation; Helen Frankenthaler Foundation; Cy Twombly Foundation; Stavros Niarchos Foundation; Blavatnik Family Foundation; Arison Arts Foundation; The Richard Pousette-Dart Foundation; David Rockefeller Fund; Henry Luce Foundation; Robert Lehman Foundation; The Destina Foundation; public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council; the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; New York City Council Member Jimmy Van Bramer; and contributions from our Board of Trustees, Director’s Circle, and SC Ambassadors. Additional support is provided by the Milton and Sally Avery Arts Foundation and contributions from many generous individuals and friends.